altf

iPhone firmware: 2.0 to 1.1.4 downgrade

Posted in Apple by AltF on July 13, 2008

Here are the steps for a successful 2.0 to 1.1.4 downgrade for those of you that updated to 2.0 and realized what a mistake it was. (Thanks goes to Geeb for finding the iTunes 7.5 solution, Thanks goes to Crumpx for the pwnage method). Note that this has been performed on a PC.

Ok, so you updated to iTunes 7.7 and then installed 2.0 and you’re stuck. Here are the steps to downgrade to 1.1.4. Note that the result of this guide will be that you will be back to 1.1.4 version of firmware with baseband of 2.0 (4.05.04_G).

1) The first problem in your downgrade is that you probably are getting error 20 in restore mode and error 160x in DFU mode. This is due to iTunes 7.7.  So, you now you need to uninstall iTunes 7.7 and install iTunes 7.5. Make sure after your iTunes 7.7 uninstall you reboot your pc as it requests you to. **OSX users, see note at bottom of page to downgrade your iTunes.

2) Now that you have  iTunes 7.5, you will still have the DFU driver for 7.7. This is good and will allow the process to work. Put your phone into DFU mode using the DFU steps.

3) Restore using iTunes 7.5. You will get an error like 1011, 1013, 1015. This is normal and expected. An error 1601, 1602, 1600 or anything else is not ok.

4) Once you get error above, leave iTunes open and kick your phone out of restore mode. I recommend just loading winpwn(PC) or pwnage(MAC) and pwning the device at this point. If pwnage fails to work, you need to restore your phone again. You should be able to use normal restore mode, however. Other ways to kick out of restore mode may be ibrickr, jailbreak 1.1.2 (boot phone), iLiberty+.

5) Once completed, you have a pwned device with baseband 4.05.04_G from firmware v2.0.

6) To get back to 04.04.05_G (1.1.4 baseband) load bootneuter. If you don’t have this, install it from installer. Run bootneuter with Neuter, 4.6, and unlock. When it’s done, you will have an unlocked 04.04.05_G right back where you started.

Note: if you get  a boot neuter error like 05, 02 or such, you probably have more steps. Unfortunately, there is no safe answer to this one.The only method I know of to do this is to use a patched version of Ziphone as described here. Before you do this, you should know the risks. Read my Ziphone warning here. Your other option is to just wait for dev teams pwnage v2.0. Direct download link for pc and mac: http://iphone-freak.com/en/page1/page1.html

Note for OSX users:
If you are on OSX and want to attempt to downgrade your iTunes, you can try these steps:

Load up Terminal and type the following:
killall iTunesHelper
sudo -s
rm -r /Applications/iTunes.app
rm -r /Library/Receipts/iTunesX.pkg
rm  ~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.iTunes*
rm -r /Applications/iTunes.app
rm -r /Library/Receipts/iTunesX.pkg
rm  ~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.iTunes*
rm -r /System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/MobileDevice.framework

Troubleshooting:
Some of you have reported “I am in DFU mode and keep getting error 20 from iTunes restore”. Answer, you are not in DFU mode. Follow the guide and the DFU link. An iPhone in DFU mode has no image on the screen and looks powered down.

Some of you are reporting error 160x (1600, 1601, 1602, 1604 etc) on the iTunes downgrade while in DFU mode. I suggest trying another PC. You may still have some residual files left over from the 7.7 install. Make sure you are in iTunes 7.5 with drivers from 7.7.

Source: http://sleepers.net/news/?page_id=216

35 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. SkyWalker said, on July 13, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    I have downgrade my iTunes to 7.5. However iTune is not able to restore the iphone after i put the phone in DFU mode. iTunes shows the following error message.
    “Software for this iPhone is not currently available. Make sure you have the latest version of iTunes and try again.”

  2. Top Posts « WordPress.com said, on July 14, 2008 at 12:02 am

    […] iPhone firmware: 2.0 to 1.1.4 downgrade Here are the steps for a successful 2.0 to 1.1.4 downgrade for those of you that updated to 2.0 and realized what a […] […]

  3. nael said, on July 14, 2008 at 4:32 am

    itunes 7.5 said that i must download itunes 7.7 wt shall i do?

  4. Verb Wit said, on July 14, 2008 at 8:35 am

    After 12 or so hours of trying different things, this method kind of worked for me, but I did some things differently.

    I had an first gen Iphone, I guess its called. Not a 3g. I did this on windows Xp sp2.

    1st.
    I used total uninstaller to uninstall i tunes 7.7. This usually does a pretty good job of unistalling programs and cleaning up the left behind crap.

    So after that I had to reboot my computer.

    (Yes I am one of those people that will never reboot my computer because I hate waiting for anything. But in this case, after messing with this phone all day, I made sure to do everything by the book. You should do the same thing when troubleshooting that way you can repeat your steps exactly and actually know eliminate possible issues from your problem solving.)

    2.Computer restarts, I have Zone Alarm Pro installed on my computer, which monitors when programs are trying to connect to the internet. So I turned the settings way up on this to make sure I would know every program that was trying to access the internet. I wasn’t sure if I wanted itunes to be able to phone home.

    3. I installed itunes 7.5, I believe it did try to phone home, and I blocked it, and then it wouldn’t continue with the install, so I unblocked it, and as soon as it was finished installing I blocked it again.

    4.I tried to start itunes but got a message popping up saying “the file iTunes Library.itl cannot be read because it was created by a newer version of itunes.”

    5. I used the windows search function to search for Library.itl, and it popped right up and I deleted it.

    6.I started I tunes 7.5, it did register my iphone, but said I needed to restore it. I had the screen up with the “slide to make emergency call, and the usb cord and the itunes symbol. I read that I needed to be in dfu mode, and this was not dfu mode.

    7. So I put it in DFU mode. I am not going to explain what that is, I read what it is on alot of posts, if you follow the instructions, its not difficult.

    8.So now I was in dfu mode, so I hit shift+restore in itunes to bring up the dialog that asks me what ipsw file do I want to use.

    9.I seleceted “iPhone1,1_1.1.4_4A102_Restore.ipsw.” don’t remember when I got it from but I am sure you can find it if you look on the net.

    10. It went through the restore process and did and everything it was supposed to do, and then I got a 1015 error, which from reading post, I read that this was okay.

    ***********************************
    the first few times I tried this, I got different errors that different posts said were not alright. So I would leave it alone, go curse the world and then come back and try later. I don’t know why it worked this time, but it did, and it definitely wasnt on the first time. I had also installed and unistalled itunes 7.5 twice throughout the day.
    so if this happens to you and you get the wrong type of error after the restore. I would recommend trying it a few times before you take a long walk off a short cliff. I am just as impatient as the next guy, but you have to just keep trying.

    11.
    So then I used the program winpwn, because it some post it said at this stage in the game, I should use it. so I did.

    12.In winpwn 1.0 I clicked on the browse .ipsw button and then I browsed to the same file I used for the restore in itunes, “iPhone1,1_1.1.4_4A102_Restore.ipsw”. I had also downloaded some other versions of the .ipsw, earlier versions, and ipwner basically told me it didnt know what the hell I was talking about. So anyways, I used iPhone1,1_1.1.4_4A102_Restore.ipsw and clicked okay. It said a few things in the winpwn dialog box and then I new it was ready for me to hit the ipwner button.

    13. So I hit the button and it said quote

    Ramdisk successfully created
    7/14/2008 3:35:13 AM – Sending ramdisk to iPhone.
    7/14/2008 3:35:17 AM – Transfer took 3750ms
    7/14/2008 3:35:17 AM – Modifying environment…
    7/14/2008 3:35:17 AM – Starting pwnage
    7/14/2008 3:35:26 AM – iPhone left recovery mode
    7/14/2008 3:36:07 AM – iPhone entered recovery mode
    7/14/2008 3:36:07 AM – Your iPhone has entered recovery after pwning!

    ***********************************
    when I got to this point on another computer I was using, ipwner would crash everytime I hit the ipwner button. So on this other computer of mine it worked.

    (yes the times next to the above quoted text are right, and I am on eastern standard time. I finally was making progress at 3am in the morning. So yes sometimes it will take a lot of work and time.)

    14. So the last line told me that it went back into recovery mode after if finshed pwning(by the way, I have no freekin clue what pwning stands for, nor do I care, so if you don’t know, your a rockstar like me.) Anyways, I thought to myself,”back in recovery mode, Im screwed, drats, foiled again. Time to sell it on ebay, lol. j/k”

    In one of my previous attempts, when I got to this stage, I was told by many posts, that I needed to knock my phone out of recovery mode here, and by the looks of things, it was still in recovery mode, so i used ziphone, ibrkr, and I liberty all at the same time(literally!), I used their various functions to kick it out of recovery mode. Needless to say this method did not work, but at 2 or 3 am, I was willing to sacrifice bricking my iphone.

    15.Anyways, so now, I have done the ipwner thing but it put my phone back in recovery mode, I thought i was screwed blah blah blah, but I wasn’t. I actually used Ziphone 3.0 and clicked on the Do it all button and let it do its thing.

    *****************************
    I had used on Ziphone on a previous iphone so I thought I knew how it worked, as far as how long things should take. When I used it on this iphone at this stage in the game it took longer for the words to scroll down the screen and for the it to actally unlock the phone, I kept thinking it was frozen. But here is the KEY

    A WATCHED POT DOESNT BOIL.

    I literally flipped my iphone over and did not look at it. Previously as I counted the seconds go by and my iphone magic wasn’t working, I did things like unplugging it, restarting it, or running multiple programs at the same time, when I shouldn’t be “see step 14 for anecdote.” Waiting sucks, but once again, I would urge you to be patient, it even says on Ziphone, if this takes longer than 10 minutes then something is wrong. Well it didn’t take longer than ten minutes but it was close, but it didn’t even seem that long because I didn’t look at the phone every 2 seconds like I had been doing all day.

    So next thing I know, I hear the usb chime on my computuer, the phone cuts off and cuts back on and, Voila!!, it works, I put atnt sim card in and I was ready to go.

    note****************** the installer app was not on the phone when I finished, but after going through this all day, I could care less. I know I can install things later, “without upgrading”

    Well thats it now I am going to go to sleep and wake up tommorrow and with my luck the 2.0 hack will be out.

    Good luck to you all.

  5. nael said, on July 14, 2008 at 10:52 am

    man i its not working i downoad itunes 7.5 when i restor error(20) :S wt shall i do?

  6. Anonymous said, on July 14, 2008 at 6:02 pm

    U’s my dawg. Whoever say delete libray itl. IT was pissing me off so bad

  7. boitano said, on July 14, 2008 at 9:45 pm

    t’s the same problem again… Baseband firmware not matching the phone.. I get a lot of these lately especially since the 2.0 was launched. This solution should work for all 1012/1013/1014/1015 problems.

    Simply use iLiberty or independance or ziphone (whatever you are comfortable with) to get your phone in the normal mode.

    In iLiberty it’s under the Advanced Menu called “Exit Restore Mode” or something.
    Once it gets out of Recovery mode, it’s back to normal.
    If you’re using Ziphone, click “Restart in Normal mode”

    Once your iPhone is “Alive”… Jailbreak it (so you have the installer)

    … at any stage, if you get service, STOP. (Coz I believe that you don’t need to repair something that already works)

    Now simply downgrade the baseband (from the iClarified source) OR completely erase the baseband (Using Baseband Eraser from the iClarified SOurce) and restore to 1.1.4 again… preferably from the DFU mode so you can be sure your baseband is written to a version matching your firmware.

    After your phone is restored to a 1.1.4… unlock as usual using iLiberty (or anything else that works) and you’re good to go.

  8. new1iphone said, on July 15, 2008 at 1:35 am

    I am not sure I agree with the premise of this post.

    Iclarified.com doesn’t erase the baseband 04.05_04G .. it only knows upto 04.05_01G.

    Plus I have never been able to flash a new bootloader .. 3.9 or 4.6BL with bootneuter .. someone explained it’s because of the 2.0 baseband load which I can see iLiberty knows nohthing about.

    so those who got it to work, good luck .. I have spent 8+ hours without luch .. everything else on the damn thing works except the phone part🙂

  9. AltF said, on July 15, 2008 at 3:46 am

    @nael you need to uninstall 7.7 first.

  10. Prem said, on July 15, 2008 at 5:57 am

    Guys, I tried all the tricks in the book.. including the instructions in this post..
    in short Ipwn did not help me AT ALL.

    BUT.
    I managed to get my phone working back to normal… and the solution is very very simple…
    all you need to do is follow this thread’s instruction.

    Took me 2 fricking days to get this damn phone sorted – and god bless “matinez” who gave us the patch to get the thing working…

    here;s the link.
    hope it helps.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=516349

    Hope it helps

  11. nael said, on July 15, 2008 at 8:50 am

    guys i downgrade it from 2 to 1.1.4 for but i had another problem when i unlock it with ziphone the iphone dont detect any sinal anybody can help??

  12. Moi said, on July 16, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    Works with iTunes 7.6.2(9)
    Try to sett the iPhone in flymode for some sec.

  13. hugo said, on July 17, 2008 at 5:18 am

    after installing 7.5 and all that and putin my iphone in DFU it gave me a (1601) error what do i doo???

  14. AltF said, on July 17, 2008 at 12:57 pm

    @hugo – try a different usb port. disable all the usb devices. quit itunes. worst case – try a different computer.

  15. hugo said, on July 17, 2008 at 6:25 pm

    i finally got my iphone to work but i dont got signal..!!!!!! what do i do

  16. Anonymous said, on July 18, 2008 at 6:44 pm

    @hugo – try this http://www.hackint0sh.org/forum/showthread.php?t=46198

  17. ross said, on July 20, 2008 at 4:32 pm

    im not getting any

  18. victor said, on July 20, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    itunes updated to 7.7, phone went from 1.1.4 firmware to 2.0

    issue is that the phone will only be picked up in itunes 7.7, both my pc and mac dont want to see my iphone when itunes is the 7.5 version, the pc states that it cannot be seen without having itunes 7.7

    what am i doing wrong to not get it to work, on either.

    do i need to install 7.7, the run DFU mode then install 7.5?

    please explain.

  19. iphoneeedan said, on July 21, 2008 at 4:26 pm

    Got mu phone back to 1.14. Now I have no youtube connection. Tried the patch in applications and that does not work. Anyone have a suggestion?
    Thanks,

  20. icuucme said, on July 24, 2008 at 4:30 am

    after i get the 1015 error, i just leave it? should i click ok?

  21. caesar said, on July 28, 2008 at 5:34 pm

    i successfully downgraded my iphone from 2.0 to 1.1.4 but my iphone’s status now is NO SERVICE! i cant txt nor call., but wifi and blutooth is working..please help me

  22. caesar said, on July 28, 2008 at 5:36 pm

    i successfully downgraded my iphone from 2.0 to 1.1.4 but my iphone’s status now is NO SERVICE! i cant txt nor call., but wifi and blutooth is working..please help me

  23. Ashley said, on July 30, 2008 at 3:22 am

    Can someone please help me…………… i”ve tried to restore my 1st generation iphone back to 1.1.4 but i havent gotten one error message yet. I’ve done it about six times or more. It just keeps saying preparing iphone for restore. How long is the process before you get the error message???

  24. horizon said, on July 31, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    thanks, verb wit. has anybody else tried his way? it worked just fine for me. Downgrade itunes to 7.5, put your phone in DFU, or even restore mode in my case, then pawn it with winpawn. if you are not sure how to put your phone in restore mode and pawn it, there are plenty of video on you tube. here is one: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rWfv3moxWGg
    don’t us itunes to restore it though. just go as far as pawing your i phone. after wards, just use ziphone. the only problem is that it doesn’t put the installer on your phone. that is my next challenge. thanks fellows.

  25. Diana said, on August 8, 2008 at 3:34 pm

    I try to restore my iPhone by DFU Mode by Selecting “1.1.4 Firmware Package”. After 60 Sec, It is throwing up an Error[1]. Please HELP me, I will LOVE You.

  26. Percy said, on August 10, 2008 at 11:54 pm

    i successfully downgraded my iphone from 2.0 to 1.1.4 but my iphone’s status now is NO SERVICE! i cant txt nor call., but wifi and blutooth is working..please help me

  27. Percy said, on August 10, 2008 at 11:55 pm

    help me please.. anybody….
    .

  28. Anon said, on August 14, 2008 at 3:44 am

    @percy @diana – you can actually upgrade to 2.0 now. guide to upgrade is available here – https://altf.wordpress.com/2008/07/20/pwnage-for-windows-user/

  29. SummyD said, on August 24, 2008 at 7:08 pm

    Thanx Verb Wit! I had every problem in the book of restoring, unlocking etc etc! I went thru exactly wat verb sed and bingo! I got my phone back! Thanx a mill!! i am no doin back up my iphone, lets just hope everythin runs smoothly after this!

  30. SummyD said, on August 24, 2008 at 7:33 pm

    ok….i am in same situation as percy! plz help, no signal on iphone or cant txt! wat do i do”???

  31. anon said, on September 21, 2008 at 12:47 am

    If you want to downgrade from 2.1 to 1.1.4, you will notice something interesting. The 2.1 update has altered the DFU software on the iPhone itself to reject customized ispw’s.

    You will recieve the 1600’s errors if trying to use a custom. In order to get around this:

    1. Uninstall iTunes 8 (see end for credits)
    killall iTunesHelper
sudo -s
rm -r /Applications/iTunes.app
rm -r /Library/Receipts/iTunesX.pkg
rm  ~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.iTunes*
rm -r /Applications/iTunes.app
rm -r /Library/Receipts/iTunesX.pkg
rm  ~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.iTunes*
rm -r /System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/MobileDevice.framework

    2. Install iTunes 7.5 (restart recommended)
    3. Download the original 1.1.4 (iPhone1,1_1.1.4_4A102_Restore.ipsw).
    4. Go into DFU mode on the iPhone
    5. Option click and restore the firmware.
    This is where people get stuck. Here is the problem. You might encouter an error in the 1600’s. If you do, shut down the iPhone and reenter DFU mode. Try again and you should be greeted with a 1500’s error, signifying success.
    6. It is very important if you reach this stage to ONLY do this: open iLiberty+ and click Exit DFU Mode in the menu bar.
    7. Wait a minute, and your phone should vibrate and be in Emergency Mode. Success!
    8. Load iTunes and activate the phone.
    9. Using iLiberty+ click Jailbreak + Installer. This process took no longer than a minute.

    Notes
    – Stay away from ZiPhone as it doesn’t work (I tried 3.0).
    – In DFU Mode the screen would turn white when trying to install a custom firmware using iTunes 7.5. ZiPhone and QuickPwn say “Your iPhone is being rebooted” but it would just stand at the white screen.
    – In Recovery Mode the screen would turn light blue.

    Sources
    1. Copy & Pasted from http://sleepers.net/news/guides/20-to-114-downgrade/

  32. Ervis said, on October 5, 2008 at 1:33 pm

    a really big thanks to Martinez here is the link for help

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=516349

    only in this way you can downgrade to 1.1.4 jailbreak it and have an i phone with carrier and installer

    wish you all luck!!!
    bye bye Ervis

  33. Ervis said, on October 5, 2008 at 1:34 pm

    ach i forgot my i phone works and now i am restoring it so that i can have my back up data bye

  34. Sexo De Lesvianas said, on August 4, 2009 at 4:39 am

    hh. 10x ))


Leave a Reply

